Department of Medicine

Funders and collaborators

  • CLS lab PBMCs photo

The study is funded by the Wellcome Trust and is part of an international collaboration led by the Chief Investigator, Professor Jonathan Weber, at the sponsor, Imperial College London, together with the University of Oxford, the Medical Research Council Clinical Trials Unit (MRC CTU), and participating clinical sites.

Scientific research is being carried out by the University of Oxford at the Peter Medawar Building for Pathogen Research. Led by the Co-Investigator, Professor Rodney Phillips, their key deliverable is the Immunological data. In addition the Virology research is being led by Co-Investigator, Professor Myra McClure at the Jefferiss Trust Laboratories, Wright-Fleming Institute, Imperial College London.

The MRC CTU is responsible for the trial management of SPARTAC.  MRC CTU is one of the UK’s leading centres for clinical research.  It specialises in cancer and HIV/AIDS, but also undertakes research in other areas, including tuberculosis, rheumatoid arthritis, and mental health. Unit staff design, conduct, analyse and publish clinical trials, observational studies, meta-analyses and other systematic reviews of clinical or public health importance. Professor Abdel Babiker, based at MRC CTU, is SPARTAC's Trial Statisticion.

Abbott Laboratories Limited has supplied the Drug (Kaletra) to SPARTAC study sites in South Africa, Brazil and Uganda in accordance with the requirements of the Protocol.

Contract Lab Services (CLS) are responsible for the Virology and Immunology testing of all SPARTAC samples from the sites in South Africa, according to the SPARTAC protocol. CLS is a specialized clinical trial research and diagnostic pathology laboratory in the Republic of South Africa.


SPARTAC team: (back row, left to right) Polly Clayden, Francesca Conradie, Christopher Conlon, Mauro Schechter, Giuseppe Tambussi, Anthony Kelleher, Margaret Thomason, Fiona Ewings, Susannah Keeling, Patrick Dorr, Sharika Gappoo, Thesla Palanee, Michelle Gabriel. (front row, left to right) Marta Tufet, Francis Ssali, Timothy Peto, Abdel Babiker, Jonathan Weber, Sarah Fidler, Gita Ramjee, Kholoud Porter, Agnes Becker, Jose Miro, Martin Fisher, John Frater


Share this on Delicious
Tweet this
Digg this
Stumble this
Share this on Facebook