National Heart & Lung Institute (NHLI)

NHLI Thesis Prize

Graduation 2010

Graduation 2010

The National Heart and Lung Institute awards the NHLI Thesis Prize yearly to the NHLI thesis and student voted as being the most outstanding for that year.

The 2015 competition will open in spring 2015.  To be eligible to enter the 2015 competition:

  • The thesis must not have been entered into previous NHLI Thesis Prize competitions
  • The thesis (MS, MD, MD(Res), MPhil, PhD) must have been awarded, between 1 January 2014 and 1 May 2015
  • The supervisor must submit a letter of recommendation and complete their section within the application form
  • The student must complete and submit the application along with the final examiners’ reports (these should be requested in advance of the deadline if copies are required)
  • All the paperwork must be submitted electronically received by Wednesday 3 June 2015, 5pm

The winning student(s) will be awarded a certificate and a monetary prize of up to £500.  The prize will be presented to the winner at the Annual NHLI Postgraduate Research Day on Monday 13 July 2015, W12 Conferences, Hammersmith Campus.

Please complete the Thesis Prize application 2015 Unknown and send to Emma Watson

Prize Winners


Dr James Stirrup - For his MD (Res) thesis entitled: 'Myocardial applications of X-ray cardiovascular computed tomography'

Dr Robin Simpson - For his PhD thesis entitled: 'Development of a high temporal resolution spiral 3D phase velocity mapping technique for analysis of regional myocardial mechanics'

Highly Commended

Dr Arjun Ghosh - For his PhD thesis entitled: 'Adult life course determinants of cardiac structure and
function in the Medical Research Council 1946 birth cohort'

Dr Ruth O'Reilly - For her MD (Res) thesis entitled: 'Does airway pathology in severe preschool wheezers predict childhood asthma?'

Dr Michael Wortley - For his PhD thesis entitled: 'An investigation into the efficacy and mechanisms of action of novel therapeutics for chronic cough'


Dr Neil Ward - For his PhD thesis entitled: 'Diagnosis of Sleep-Disordered Breathing in Chronic Heart Failure'.

Dr Michael Ibrahim - For his PhD thesis entitled: 'Mechanical load regulates transverse-tubule structure and function in left ventricular cardiomyocytes'.

Highly Commended

Dr Katrina Pollock - For her PhD thesis entitled: 'Dissection of the immunomodulatory effects of human immunodeficiency virus and Mycobacterium tuberculosis on cellular immunity'.

Dr Sinbad Sweeney - For his PhD thesis entitled: 'Differential reactivity of engineered nanomaterials
with human alveolar epithelium and macrophages in vitro: importance of physicochemistry'.


Dr John-Paul Carpenter - For his MD (Res) thesis entitled: 'Cardiovascular Magnetic Resonance
and Iron Measurement'.

Dr Andrea Sperone - For his PhD entitled: 'Role of the transcription factor Erg in inflammation'.


Dr Antonios Konitsiotis - For his PhD entitled: 'Analysis of extracellular and intracellular interactions of the collagen receptor DDR2'.


Dr Sarah Maher - For her PhD thesis entitled: 'Identification of the prostanoid receptor mediating PGE2-induced cough'.


Dr Matthew Hyde - For his PhD thesis entitled: 'Studies of hepatic metabolism in a piglet model of the neonate on total parenteral nutrition'.


Dr Mark Tanner - For his MD thesis entitled: 'Cardiovascular Magnetic Resonance of Siderotic Cardiomyopathy in Thalassaemia Major'.

Dr Harsha Kariyawasam - For his PhD thesis entitled: 'Airway Remodelling and Transforming Growth Factor (TGF)-β Superfamily Signalling in Allergen-Induced Asthma'.


Dr Jennifer Kearley - For her PhD thesis entitled: 'Manipulating allergen-specific Th2 responses'.

Dr Sejal Saglani - For her MD thesis entitled: 'The pathology of preschool and infant wheeze'.


Dr Omar Usmani - For his PhD thesis entitled: 'Assessing the lung deposition and clinical response in asthmatic subjects as a function of β-adrenergic aerosol particle size'.

Share this on Delicious
Tweet this
Digg this
Stumble this
Share this on Facebook

Committed to equality and valuing diversity.
We are also an Athena Silver SWAN Award winner and a Stonewall Diversity Champion.

Athena Silver SWAN Award

Stonewall Diversity Champion